Epic Desk 2- Build Journel

Hey guys here is the build journel for the desk.

I got the inspiration for this desk while watching James May’s Man Lab. On the show they constructed a pool table, the supports of which inspired the base of the table.

image

In another episode, they made a kitchen counter top out of concrete, which created the idea of the table top.

image

I started off with a concept sketch.

image

And drew a technical drawing of the final design.

image

The technical drawing helps with finding weird measurements, If you cant calculate how long the piece is, just count the squares.

I was going to use 2×6 for the table supports, but lowes had these cool cyprus boards for sale, i decicded to give the a try.

image

I notched them to fit together as a grid and assembled the with finishing nails.

image

The legs are made from pine 2×6’s. I just cut cut them at an angle on the table saw.

image

Then used child labor and bolts to attach the legs.

image

I wanted to re-enforce joint where the legs meet table supports as well as othe places on the frame, so I cut sheet metal to fit the joints.

image

I made a plywood form for concrete top, and used Quickcrete re-enforced with concrete wire for tue top.

image

image

After letting the top harden for 6 days, Nathaniel and I flipped the top. I was happy to see the finished side was halfway decent.

image

While it was in the garage, I test fitted the top to the base.

image

Then I hit a problem. For those who do not know the layout of my house i live in a basement bedroom. And while concrete is a cool building material, it is also very heavy, the top of the desk weighs between 450-500lbs. So getting through the house down a set of steps, through a hallway and into my bedroom. I’m not going to lie, for a secound i thought about just using the desk as a work bench in the garage.

So how to move 500lbs without killing yourself?  Here is my solution.

image

image

Yeah it’s Red-Neck, but it’s the best I could come up with. So after a lot of effort the top made it down to my room.

image

The old desk AKA The Origonal Epic Desk.

image

Final product

image

Take it easy,

Paul

Update: Since posting this build journel, I sealded the concrete top with a satin polyurithane type product. Im realy happy with the results.
image

image

One thought on “Epic Desk 2- Build Journel

Leave a Reply

